The Hall Foundation was conceived in 1996 at a Vancouver meeting of the Canadian Health Economics and Research Association (CHERA) (predecessor organization to CAHSPR).  It was incorporated on May 5, 1997 under the  Non-profit Corporations Act of Saskatchewan and as of November 24, 1997, it became a registered charity with the number 88728 3463 RR00001.


From its beginning in 1997, the main purpose of the Foundation was to recognize and celebrate excellence in health economics and policy research through the creation of a Memorial Lecture, raising funds through donations to build up a capital sum large enough to finance the lectureship by means of the interest earned.  The Lecture has been given at the periodic CHERA/ACRES conferences, now annual CAHSPR conferences.  The Foundation covers the expenses of the Memorial Lecturer, and provides a modest honorarium of $1000. 

In 2008, the Foundation has partnered with the Canadian Health Leadership Network (CHLNet) to establish the MacNaught-Taillon Leadership Award.  This award recognizes leadership in health and information policy in keeping with the ideals of The Honourable Justice Emmett Hall. 

The award is accompanied by a $1,000 cash award to an emerging health leader as selected by the MacNaught-Taillon award winner.  This award has been made possible by significant contributions from a number of national health organizations, including the Canadian Institute for Health Information, Canada Health Infoway, and, most recently, Optimed (formerly Clinicare), as well as a number of individual donors.  

Finally, under the dedicated leadership of the Past President Marion Jones, excellence at the student level has been encouraged through three student essay awards.  These include prizes of $1000, $1250 and $1500, respectively, for outstanding essays written by an undergraduate, a master’s, and a doctoral student.  Prizes are awarded based on excellence in Canadian health economics and health policy research, again informed by the health ideals articulated by the late Justice Hall – equity, fairness, justice, and efficiency.  In 2015, the awards were renamed to the Jack Boan Student Essay Awards sponsored by The Justice Emmett Hall Memorial Foundation. 


The Foundation is governed by a board of directors. Membership is defined as fully paid members of CAHSPR. Members are entitled to advance and vote on motions at the Foundation's annual general meeting which typically coincides with the CAHSPR conference.

2018/19 Board of Directors

Mark Dobrow

Vice President
Owen Adams

Lindsay Hedden

Student Member
Derek Manis

Past President
Maria Mathews

Directors at Large
Don Wildfong
Tom McIntosh
Colleen Flood
Morris Barer